1211 Burkemont Ave, Morganton, NC 28655 (828) 438-3800
Services We Offer | Service
NC State Inspections
This facility is authorized to offer both the Safety Inspection and the Emission/Safety Inspection. Our licensed inspectors strive to get you passed in the quickest timeframe and the lowest cost while still fully complying with all laws regarding the inspection process. As an added bonus the facility is one of the first in the state to also process the registration fees and vehicle taxes just like the tag office at the same price as the tag office.
Safety Inspections ($13.60)
The most basic (and least expensive) inspection is the Safety Inspection. This inspection is to make sure your vehicle is operating safely. It includes checks to the headlights, accessory lights, directional signals, foot brake, parking brake, steering and windshield wipers.
Exemptions, the following vehicle types do not need a Safety Inspection:
§ Vehicles 35 years old, or older
Emission Inspections ($30.00)
is fighting ozone-forming emissions from gasoline-operated cars and light duty trucks. Inspections are conducted using the vehicle's On-Board Diagnostic (OBD) system, computerized equipment installed on all new vehicles since 1996. If you live inBurkeCounty you are required to have an emissions inspection. North Carolina
Exemptions, the following vehicle types do not need an Emissions Inspection:
§ Vehicles three years old and newer with fewer than 70,000 miles
§ Model 1995 vehicles, or older
§ Diesel-operated vehicles
§ Vehicles licensed under the farmer rate
Unable to repair your vehicle?
If your car passes the safety inspection but fails the emissions inspection your vehicle may be eligible for a waiver if you meet the requirements imposed in North Carolina General Statute 20 – 183.5. Our staff can assist you in completing the requirements needed to obtain a waiver in the most cost saving and timely manner.
If you have questions regarding qualifications for a wavier:
§ Or call the DMV, (877) 421-0200
Renewing your Tag & Paying Taxes
Our staff is now able to assist you in renewing your tag and paying your taxes right in our office, eliminating the need to visit your local DMV Tag office.
Before we can do this for you:
· Your vehicle must be currently registered in
· Your vehicle must have passed inspection no more than 90 days before the registration expires
And have the following information ready:
· Vehicle license plate number
· Last five (5) characters of the vehicle title number
· Valid email address, so we can email your receipt
· Valid Visa, MasterCard or Discover debit or credit card
Address & Insurance change
You may also change your address and listed insurance carrier while renewing your registration. Your renewed registration card will be mailed to the address you have on record.
Hours & Location